Friday, December 10, 2010

Day 20: Pancakes?

I've never seen pancakes for breakfast at school before but yesterday I got in line and the person in front of me got pancakes. The two small pancakes came with one packet of syrup, a milk and an orange juice. They actually smelled pretty good and I wasn't absolutely dreading eating them. But they tasted like paper. Not necessarily "I'm going to throw up if I continue to eat this" but more like "there is absolutely no point in wasting my energy eating this." Oh! I forgot to mention, there was also a sausage thing, and I poured the syrup all over it because I think it makes it taste better. One of the things I've noticed was that the sporks are basically pointless. They couldn't even cut the pancakes!! Let alone the sausage. Why do they even bother giving us sporks. Plus, if you drop your spork, as I just learned from my journalism teacher, if you ask for another the lunch ladies ask for five cents. Five cents for a useless plastic utensil! No thanks, I'd rather eat with my hands, thanks. (Okay, maybe not really.)
I was standing in line for lunch yesterday and looked over and saw that it was fried chicken. Eh, okay. However, when I went through the line, all the fried chicken was gone and there were chicken finger things. I say "things" because I don't honestly know if it was really chicken or not. I tore a piece apart and saw that the inside was kind of gray. The cafeteria has the right idea, though. Make the food so hot that when you go to eat it you can't possibly taste it because your taste buds have been burned off. That way you never know just how bad the food really is. The sides were cheesy potatoes and a pasta salad thing with egg and onions. It was weird! Also, the person in front of me got an apple and a regular milk. The apple was nice. :) So was the milk.
So I've noticed that it's getting harder and harder for me to wake up in the morning, and I think it could possibly be because of the food. However, I'm not sure on this. Maybe I'm just getting lazy. But it's easier to blame the food.

No comments:

Post a Comment