Friday, December 10, 2010

Day 20: Pancakes?

I've never seen pancakes for breakfast at school before but yesterday I got in line and the person in front of me got pancakes. The two small pancakes came with one packet of syrup, a milk and an orange juice. They actually smelled pretty good and I wasn't absolutely dreading eating them. But they tasted like paper. Not necessarily "I'm going to throw up if I continue to eat this" but more like "there is absolutely no point in wasting my energy eating this." Oh! I forgot to mention, there was also a sausage thing, and I poured the syrup all over it because I think it makes it taste better. One of the things I've noticed was that the sporks are basically pointless. They couldn't even cut the pancakes!! Let alone the sausage. Why do they even bother giving us sporks. Plus, if you drop your spork, as I just learned from my journalism teacher, if you ask for another the lunch ladies ask for five cents. Five cents for a useless plastic utensil! No thanks, I'd rather eat with my hands, thanks. (Okay, maybe not really.)
I was standing in line for lunch yesterday and looked over and saw that it was fried chicken. Eh, okay. However, when I went through the line, all the fried chicken was gone and there were chicken finger things. I say "things" because I don't honestly know if it was really chicken or not. I tore a piece apart and saw that the inside was kind of gray. The cafeteria has the right idea, though. Make the food so hot that when you go to eat it you can't possibly taste it because your taste buds have been burned off. That way you never know just how bad the food really is. The sides were cheesy potatoes and a pasta salad thing with egg and onions. It was weird! Also, the person in front of me got an apple and a regular milk. The apple was nice. :) So was the milk.
So I've noticed that it's getting harder and harder for me to wake up in the morning, and I think it could possibly be because of the food. However, I'm not sure on this. Maybe I'm just getting lazy. But it's easier to blame the food.

Thursday, December 9, 2010

Day 19: chili day

Yesterday morning was alright. I had total cereal for breakfast with a piece of toast and a milk and an orange juice. Overall it was a pretty standard breakfast, except this time nobody was reaching across the table to eat my breakfast, which in my opinion was a bonus. I was incredibly hungry by third hour and I still had two more hours to go. I was going into dragon mode, which is dangerous. However, I was able to keep myself from eating anybody, which is totally another bonus.
I got in line for lunch yesterday and the cafeteria had a distinct smell. Chili. I looked over at some kids who were already eating and saw that it was a burrito with chili over it. I was hoping that the person in front of me would get the pizza. It looked so much more edible than the chili burrito thing. I don't know why people purposefully get what looks the grossest. But, they do. And the person in front of me did not get the pizza. They got the burrito thing. The sides were rice and beans and the person in front of me also got a pineapple fruit cup. The rice was... interesting. The beans... well I'm not usually a fan of beans in the first place, but I can usually eat them if they're put in front of me. These were less than fantastic, to say the very least. The fruit cup was wonderful. I love pineapple. The burrito thing... I attempted to eat it with a spork, but soon realized that this would be completely impossible. I had to eat it with my hands with chili all over it, so I ended up getting chili all over me. And I'm not a fan of chili, for the most part. If it's got lots of vegetables and spices and it makes you cry "milk!" then I'm a fan. If it's from the lunch room, covering a burrito thing, not so much.
I can say that I wasn't very hungry for the rest of the day, but I still can't decide if that's because there was enough food or I was just scared to eat again. 

Wednesday, December 8, 2010

Day eighteen

GAH-LEE I'm sorry! Perhaps from now on (if you don't already) you should just expect a blog the day after the meal. Bleh!
Yesterday's breakfast was an experience. It was the same old breakfast burrito with the bacon and the egg and the salsa and a milk and an orange juice, like usual. I was doing some homework so I wasn't really paying that much attention to eating my food and when my sister got up to go to class I was left with a few of the friends that I didn't know. As they started to leave, one of the kids turned to me and asked if he could have a bite of my burrito. I kind of just looked at him, thinking "No, you cannot have a bite of my burrito. I don't want to eat it but I have to and I don't even know you. What if you have some kind of contagious disease?" Well, okay, maybe I wasn't really worried that he might have a disease. But it is a legitimate concern. Before I could even process enough to answer, he reached over and took a huge bite out of the burrito. Literally, half of it was gone. He laughed, said thanks and walked away. What just happened?! But I finished it anyway and went to class. The breakfast overall was nothing new.
Lunch was so much better yesterday. It was spaghetti and that is definitely one of the better meals served. It came with a piece of bread, which is also pretty good and some vegetable things like peas and carrots. The kid in front of me walked slowly down the line and I was praying to God that he would pick up and apple. He finally made it to the end of the line and YES! He picked up an apple! I was ecstatic! I haven't had a piece of fruit at lunch in a while! He also got a chocolate milk. :D The meal was pretty good and I wasn't that hungry for the rest of the day.
Yesterday my mom asked me if she thought this experiment was having any kind of effect. And I'm pretty sure it is. Before I started this experiment I didn't have a big problem with self esteem. I usually felt pretty confident. In the past two weeks I've really started feeling more self-conscious and I'm pretty sure it's just because of the food. Hopefully when this is over I'll get back to normal.
Also, here's one thing that I was expecting to change because of this (and guys, you can leave now); my period. I'm VERY regular, to the day. And I expected to be off last month because of the hormones in the food and all that jazz, but nope. I was right on track. I just thought I should let everyone (hopefully except the guys) know that.

Tuesday, December 7, 2010

Day 16 and 17:

Okay so I didn't blog yesterday OR Friday and I'm really sorry. I'm getting sloppy.
Anyway, Friday for breakfast I had Trix cereal and a piece of toast and a milk. No orange juice, they were out :(
For lunch, it was chicken nugget things, which weren't incredibly terrible, with green beans and I don't remember if there was anything else. I don't think there was. I did have a milk though :)
So yesterday was also Trix cereal, and I had to literally sprint down to the cafeteria without even going to my locker because I got to school so much later than planned. Along with the cereal came, of course, yellow toast, and milk and orange juice. I love Trix, by the way.
Lunch yesterday was interesting. The main thing on the plate was several thin slices of  ham, like you would normally put on a sandwich. Except there was no bread. It was just all these slices of ham! My friends all laughed at me and told me they were sorry that I had to eat that. They all know how much I don't like pork product. Along with the ham came green beans and another one of those popsicle things. This was a bit better than the last one but still not by much. It was a little more frozen and so it didn't get everywhere. But I still don't know any good way to eat these. They come in these little triangle wax paper wrappers and you're supposed to tear off the top and eat it. But in order to do that you basically have to put the entire wrapper in your mouth and it's just akward and I look silly doing it. Anyway, I was really hungry after school and I was also very hungry before lunch. There is just not enough food!
Hopefully today is better. Already, I'm not as hungry as I was yesterday.

Friday, December 3, 2010

Day fifteen: BLEH

I had to get to school incredibly early so that I could eat breakfast and then to go the NHS meeting. If we're late, our teacher locks the door on us and we can't go to the meeting. So I tried to get to school at 7:10, which didn't work out. I got there more like 7:16, but that was okay. I got in line and there was a kid coming out from the side already and no one else was in front of me so I looked to see what he got and then I got in line. He got a burrito, but it was a different kind today. There was also an orange juice, a milk, and a fruit cup. The burrito was a mystery. It had some sort of cheesy goop inside and some other things but honestly I don't really know what was in there. It was oozing out of the side of the burrito and it was just altogether gross and difficult to eat. By the time I finished the burrito, I had only five minutes until the meeting which was on the third floor and the cafeteria is in the basement. And I still had the fruit cup and the orange juice and the milk. So I drank the milk really fast, and then took the orange juice and the fruit cup upstairs with me. On the way up I finished the orange juice and I took the fruit cup to the meeting but I waited until afterwards the eat it. It was pears, and I love pears. The fruit cup was the best part of the day.
For lunch, I got in line and again it was a really long line. And when it came around to me there was not a lot of food left. The person in front of me got a wrap, although until I unwrapped the foil I didn't really know what it was. It also came with green beans and a milk. The green beans tasted exactly like cardboard. The foil on the wrap said both "chicken" and "cheeseburger" and I could tell it wasn't a cheeseburger. At least, I hoped so. Otherwise it would be a very akward cheeseburger. It was indeed a chicken wrap, and I couldn't see anything else inside. The first bite was tolerable. After that, I ran into more of that cheesy stuff that was in the breakfast burrito. Only, it was worse on the chicken. It was horrible. I can't say it was the worst thing I've had but it's pretty darn close for sure. Piece of advice: don't ever get a wrap that says cheeseburger.

Wednesday, December 1, 2010

Day fourteen: cheater

This morning my sister was so excited because we were going to go to this German restaurant that serves pastries and get some odd pastry thing that her German teacher told her was amazing. But I have to eat school lunch, as I'm sure you've figured out by now. So we were on the drive there and the time is ticking away, and I was trying to determine if I would get to school in time to get breakfast. The chances weren't looking good. And then my mom was like "oh, Kaels, come on now, you know you want some of this German pastry thing," and well, I did. So I decided I would eat some German pastry thing and I would cheat. Really, there is no justification for this. I cheated. In a bad way. This wasn't getting an extra milk with my cereal, this wasn't asking my friend to stand in line in front of me so that I could get what I wanted. This was like peering over someone elses tests to get the answer. An now I am confessing it to the teacher and asking for detention. Although, I'm not really asking for that. I know I've made a pretty dumb decision but I'd really like to keep my readers. Although, I'd understand if you chose not to. I haven't been very faithful with this whole experiment. So I also got a very large milk and drank it on the way up the stairs to my locker and I ran into the underclassmen vice principle. He asked how breakfast was and I gave a nervous laugh. I had the giant milk in my hands! That definately did not come from the cafeteria so there was no way I could lie about it (not that I would, Mr. Vice principal, because lying to vice principals is not something I find to be a very good habit). And of course, it was only a dumb pastry and I was very hungry by lunch time.
On Wednesdays at my school some people from a church come by and host impact club, which is like a lunch time bible study kind of. It's really layed back and there's pizza involved. I figured this would be okay for me to do, because a lot of people go to impact club and so I'm just joining that group that does. Usually there is enough to get two pieces of pizza and there was exactly that amount today. I ended up getting the very last two pieces, one a cheese and one a pepperoni. Mmmm pork product. I have a teacher that reads my blog that makes fun of me for saying pork product. Anyway, the pizza was good and it was definately better tasting than the cafeteria food. If you think this is cheating please leave a comment and I'll take your thoughts into consideration. If not, feel free to remain silent.

Tuesday, November 30, 2010

Day thirteen: worst day ever

I don't get headaches. I just don't. Ever. If I do, it's a sinus headache and I know I'm getting sick and it's all bad business. And even then that's rare. However, today I had a headache and it didn't feel like a sinus headache. It was terrible! It lasted all day and had high points and low points, got better and worse. Around third hour I thought it was just because I was hungry. Because I was REALLY hungry. Literally growling and I was going into dragon mode. What I had for breakfast was total cereal (with raisins, bleh!), a piece of yellow toast and a square egg thing. It was weird! It was just this little square of egg that they put on my toast (it was scrambled) and when I sat down one kid said that it tasted like plastic. I didn't know the best way to go about eating this, so I just put the entire thing in my mouth and ate it quickly. That seemed to be the best way to do it. I also had an orange juice, which, of course, the person in front of me got along with a milk. And that was breakfast.
Okay, so you already know that I was raging with hunger by lunch time, and I got down there and saw that the line was pretty much triple the normal size. There were soooooooooooooooo many people in line. I was really worried that there wouldn't be enough food for everyone, and that would be not okay. Because I was really hungry, as I just established. However, there was plenty of food for everyone. My friend stood in front of me and tried his best to choose what he thought I would like. Honestly, there would be no right choice for this. Because it's all pretty gross. He chose a piece of cheese pizza which came with some sort of broccoli thing and he got a chocolate milk. He initially reached for chocolate, looked at me, grabbed a regular and was like "I just want to choose the right thing." But I like chocolate! So I was like "Oh, well, chocolate it cool too," so he got a chocolate, which was much better! The pizza.... one of the worst things so far. The broccoli thing wasn't so bad, it really didn't have any taste. It was just, there, and I had to eat it. Anyway, I was really hungry after school and I had to go to a basketball game tonight so I didn't get to go home and I wasn't about to eat at the game, because that food is worse than the cafeteria and more expensive. So we went to subway and I got a buffalo chicken with tomatoes, green peppers, jalepenos (did I spell that right?) and ranch dressing. I know ranch is not that great but it's the only thing I've tried with that sandwich and it works. However, after the game I was hungry again and we stopped at a taco truck and I had two chicken tacos. :) If you've never been to a taco truck, what have you been doing with your life?! Oh! and I forgot to mention that I got a sweet tea at Subway, and I'm certain that's what made my headache go away. I think I'm addicted to caffeine. I hear a lot of people are. So from now on I'll try to drink some tea before school so I don't have the same problem that I had today!