Tuesday, November 30, 2010

Day thirteen: worst day ever

I don't get headaches. I just don't. Ever. If I do, it's a sinus headache and I know I'm getting sick and it's all bad business. And even then that's rare. However, today I had a headache and it didn't feel like a sinus headache. It was terrible! It lasted all day and had high points and low points, got better and worse. Around third hour I thought it was just because I was hungry. Because I was REALLY hungry. Literally growling and I was going into dragon mode. What I had for breakfast was total cereal (with raisins, bleh!), a piece of yellow toast and a square egg thing. It was weird! It was just this little square of egg that they put on my toast (it was scrambled) and when I sat down one kid said that it tasted like plastic. I didn't know the best way to go about eating this, so I just put the entire thing in my mouth and ate it quickly. That seemed to be the best way to do it. I also had an orange juice, which, of course, the person in front of me got along with a milk. And that was breakfast.
Okay, so you already know that I was raging with hunger by lunch time, and I got down there and saw that the line was pretty much triple the normal size. There were soooooooooooooooo many people in line. I was really worried that there wouldn't be enough food for everyone, and that would be not okay. Because I was really hungry, as I just established. However, there was plenty of food for everyone. My friend stood in front of me and tried his best to choose what he thought I would like. Honestly, there would be no right choice for this. Because it's all pretty gross. He chose a piece of cheese pizza which came with some sort of broccoli thing and he got a chocolate milk. He initially reached for chocolate, looked at me, grabbed a regular and was like "I just want to choose the right thing." But I like chocolate! So I was like "Oh, well, chocolate it cool too," so he got a chocolate, which was much better! The pizza.... one of the worst things so far. The broccoli thing wasn't so bad, it really didn't have any taste. It was just, there, and I had to eat it. Anyway, I was really hungry after school and I had to go to a basketball game tonight so I didn't get to go home and I wasn't about to eat at the game, because that food is worse than the cafeteria and more expensive. So we went to subway and I got a buffalo chicken with tomatoes, green peppers, jalepenos (did I spell that right?) and ranch dressing. I know ranch is not that great but it's the only thing I've tried with that sandwich and it works. However, after the game I was hungry again and we stopped at a taco truck and I had two chicken tacos. :) If you've never been to a taco truck, what have you been doing with your life?! Oh! and I forgot to mention that I got a sweet tea at Subway, and I'm certain that's what made my headache go away. I think I'm addicted to caffeine. I hear a lot of people are. So from now on I'll try to drink some tea before school so I don't have the same problem that I had today!

Monday, November 29, 2010

Day eleven and twelve

Okay, so I know I promised I would blog last week. I just completely forgot, and then there was Thanksgiving break and I never really remembered. However, going back over the meal with a few friends, I was able to remember what I ate that day and I'm willing to tell you if you're still willing to read my blog.
So for breakfast last Tuesday I had another wonderful breakfast burrito, but this time with no salsa :( and it was still bacon and egg and it was still not very much food. For lunch, one of my friends stood in line in front of me and got a barbecue sandwich, which actually I love. I know I usually don't like pork, but when it comes with barbecue and it's in sandwich form I love it. However, I still don't ever eat it because it is pork and I'm not really a fan of eating pork products, as I'm sure most of you know by now. The lunch lady ran out of beans and ran to get chips, which turned out to be pretzels, which I'm quite fond of. Mmmmm... Carbs. Love it. Along with that came a milk and I'm pretty sure there were no other sides.
I'd like to talk about the break for just a moment. Sometimes, in my family, we become so incredibly lazy that we don't want to go grocery shopping or cook real food or anything healthy or normal, so instead we decide to eat out. And this happened quite a bit over this break. Not, of course, on Thanksgiving, though. Instead, we went to my aunts house and ate a crap ton of turkey and pie and other various foods. I learned that on average, people eat over 4,000 calories on Thanksgiving, NOT INCLUDING DESERT. Of course, I learned that from a family member and you can't always believe everthing everyone tells you. Of course, I'm not with a doctor and I haven't seen one in a few weeks so I google searched it. Of course, I knew the results would not be completely accurate, because if you can't believe what a living person right in front of you is saying, you can't believe what the internet tells you most of the time. However, most of the results I found said generally the same thing: that you eat around 4,000 calories and more if you include desert, beverages, and other food not included with the actually Thanksgiving meal. I can believe that, because I ate a lot of food and a lot of pie and I haven't been hungry since Thursday. Of course, I have been eating, but only in small amounts and usually only one to two meals a day. For example, Saturday I only ate dinner, which of course was at a restaurant. We went to Cracker Barrel and I got the cereal deal with a muffin (which I didn't even eat). Special K! I'd like to pretend that this was healthy, but it was the boring kind of special K and I put a few spoonfuls of sugar on top. :/
So this morning I slept in because of some problems last night and being extremely exhausted this morning. I would like to point out that this NEVER happens. I do not just decide I'm going to sleep in and miss a few hours of school because I'm tired. But I literally could not wake up, I was so tired. So of course I did not get breakfast at school. I did get to school before lunch, though, and got in line and got fried chicken with some sort of noodly salady thing and milk. Fried chicken is not my favorite meal. I like grilled chicken. But I suppose it was better than other things I've had since I embarked on this crazy cafeteria journey. The milk was chocolate, which was a total bonus. Usually I check to make sure the milk isn't expired, because I've heard horror stories of people taking a sip of their milk only to discover that it's been expired. However, today I completely forgot. While I do think it would make a good story to say that I drank expired milk, this was thankfully not the case. It was cold and delicious and perfectly safe from expiration.
P.S. I would like to explain that the highlighting did not show up while I was writing this and I had no idea it was there. Also, I have no idea how to get rid of it. You'll just have to deal with it.

Tuesday, November 23, 2010

Day 10: Woops!

I FORGOT TO BLOG YESTERDAY! I apologize! I can't believe I actually forgot to blog. Instead I spent close to two hours playing Aliens Vs. Zombies on my computer. I hope I don't lose readers because of this! Please forgive my tardiness. Anywhoo, the weekend was filled with lots of unnecessary food like cheese-its and a truck load of those dum-dum suckers. Those are so good! Other than that I didn't eat too badly over the weekend.
Yesterday for breakfast I got down to the cafeteria a little bit later than hoped and actually walked up the stairs to class still eating the yellow toast. It was some Total cereal with yellow toast and milk. I don't really like Total, mostly because it has raisins and I'm not a huge fan of raisins especially in cereal.
For lunch, my friend Kristina had to buy as well. She waited for me and then we went to the line together. She took a look at the options and cringed. She told me she was thinking about getting out of line, when I told her about the "healthier" sub sandwich packages with sun chips and an orange. She decided that was good enough and since that's what she was getting, that's what I just had to get, no matter how much of an inconvenience that is (ha). She wasn't going to get a milk, but I persuaded her to get one so that I could get one too and technically not be cheating. I love sun chips, as I think I've already explained. The sandwich also came with the small package of lettuce, tomato and pickle, and I'm actually used to the pickle by now. The sandwich was turkey with cheese and it was pretty decent. Then I moved onto the orange. It was a bit yellowish for an orange, but school fruit is always an off color. The first bite was terrible, and I honestly thought I was going to puke. I could feel a dry heave coming on. However, I didn't, and I made it through the rest of the orange. After the first bite it wasn't that bad. Maybe it was just the bitterness.
Anyway, the rest of the day went fine. I've been feeling really tired after school, and I don't remember if that's normal.
Expect another blog from me later on today! I will write, I promise!

Friday, November 19, 2010

Day nine: bleh

Today was filled with pig. Pretty soon I'll just turn into a pig, I'm sure of this. I got to school a little bit later than planned but I still had time to eat. The kid in front of me looked at the cereal and asked for the burrito. It came with salsa and he got an orange juice. I unwrapped it and realized how small it was. I looked inside the tortilla. Bacon wrapped around egg. Great! I drowned it in salsa, which actually wasn't that bad, and made my way through the burrito. The orange juice wasn't as warmish as yesterday so it wasn't that bad. Especially compared to the bacon. I actually don't like the taste of bacon now. I was less hungry than cereal days but still pretty hungry by lunch time.
I got down to lunch and just briefly saw what they had before it was on a tray in front of me. Two corn dogs with baked beans and an apple and milk. The milk was great. It was so cold and delicious. The corn dogs.... Our schools underclass vice principle came over and wanted to know if I was going to admit that I was eating two. Sadly I did eat both. He also wanted to know if I ate a candy bar again today. I did not! No cheating today just so everyone knows. The apple also didn't taste like dirt today and that's a bonus. The baked beans however, were awful. Most definitely the worst thing I've eaten yet. I took a few bites, then I'd eat something else, then take a few more bites and then eat something else. Well, at the end I had a lot of baked beans left and I wished I'd eaten them first and gotten them over with. It was as if they had been cooked and THEN the barbecue sauce was poured on top. Hopefully they don't make these again.
I forgot to take my steroids this morning and I don't know if that affected me in any way. I did feel tired today but it wasn't as if I was ready to fall asleep right on my desk. And now it's the weekend and I can take my vitamins and eat whatever I want! See ya' Monday!

Thursday, November 18, 2010

Day eight: Thanksgiving feast!

I got to school with plenty of time this morning to get down to breakfast. I sat with a friend that frequently eats in the cafeteria and has very negative views towards the food. He is usually doing homework during this time, which I'm learned can be a good time to do it. For breakfast I had a "bowl" of applejacks, milk, orange juice, and yet another piece of yellow toast. It was flipped over on the unbuttered side when I sat down and I was like "yay! my toast isn't yellow today!" so I picked it up and on the other side, sure enough. There was the yellow. It was hiding. I love applejacks, and if you have never had the chance to try these either you need to. Very sugary but so yummy! The orange juice was warmish again and warm orange juice is just gross! Please don't try this at home. You won't want to. I don't know if I was hungry in third hour today because our schedule was rearranged quite a bit. I was hungry, however, the hour and half before lunch and I actually cheated... I ate a caramel candy bar. Don't tell anybody! I feel bad about it :( I'm a cheater.
Anyway we had an assembly today in our advisory class, it was a speaker from OCU talking about a few scholarships. He showed up super late and there was only twenty minutes to go before lunch was supposed to start. I wasn't ravenously hungry due to the candy bar but I still wanted to eat. Of course he went over, by ten minutes and at that point he'd completely lost most our attention. How could he not? He's in a room full of restless, hungry teenagers! I figured if he went much longer he should be prepared for an attack because we were ready to eat. Of course I meant no disrespect to him, I was just hungry! Lesson #1: Don't interfere with high schoolers lunch time.
I'm actually having to edit this part in because I forgot to write about the actual lunch.
Today was some sort of Thanksgiving feast at school. The only thing they were serving was chicken and stuffing, mashed potatoes and gravy, banana bread (?), green beans, a roll and cranberry stuff. The chicken and stuffing was pretty decent. It was definitely one of the better things I've eaten so far. The bread was hard, most likely reheated (maybe a few times). The mashed potatoes. Okay honestly when the lady poured the gravy onto the mashed potatoes I thought it was caramel. It came out slow and looked waaaaay too thick to be gravy. I mean, I know gravy is thick but this was like CARAMEL! Not the best thing on the tray. However, the worst thing I'd have to say was the cranberry stuff. It came in a little paper container, like you put ketchup in at McDonalds. My friend picked it up and started joking that it came from inside the turkey. Come on now! I have to eat that! It was awful! Comparable to the popsicle thing from last week. Oh! I forgot to mention. The person in front of me also picked up an apple, so I got one too. It tasted like dirt. And the green beans ran out by the time I came by so I didn't have any of those. Both the person and front of me and behind me refused to get a milk but I got one anyway. Cheating again! Tomorrow I'll be better :)
Anyway I've been feeling pretty decent all day. I haven't been too tired but I think it's due to the steroids I have to take for my asthma. I'll have to watch how I feel after the prescription runs out.

Wednesday, November 17, 2010

Day seven: Pork product!

So this morning I was back on schedual down in the cafeteria ready to eat! Maybe not excited but definately ready. Today was kind of funny and I'm pretty sure the cafeteria people think I'm absolutely crazy. The kid in front of me had a way of moving so that I couldn't see what he was picking up. I tried peering around to see if he'd grabbed an orange juice, and I asked the ladies several times if he'd picked one up. I don't even think they were listening to me. Finally I saw that he had in fact picked up and orange juice and a milk, and was getting french toast sticks and to sausages! No! Not sausages! I ate them, dipping them in the syrup for the french toast sticks (which tasted like a campfire, if that makes any sense) and made it through the meal. For the next three hours I could swear I was going to throw up. I didn't, however, thank heavens! Pork product does not sit well with me. However, I wasn't hungry, but I'm still not sure if I'd rather have that or not wanting to throw up all day.
Lunch was also quite comical. I stood in line behind a friend who understands what I'm doing. Trying to be helpful, he asked what I would like for him to order so I could get the same thing. Well that doesn't seem fair! He has to get whatever he wants and I just have to go along with it! That's how this works! So I didn't tell him what I wanted and I just let him quess what he thought might be my first choice. He chose a "chicken" sandwich, which came with literally five fries, and a container of lettuce, tomatoe, and pickles. He picked up a chocoalte milk. That's the first chocolate I've had since I started! I certainly enjoy chocolate milk :) Once again I ate the pickles, which were actually pretty good compared to my morninng sausage experience. I might actually grow to like pickles by the end of this. Lunch, while not as bad as breakfast, was definately not the best I've had. However, I wasn't hungry for the rest of the day. Fatigue, however, has become my worst enemy but seemingly best friend. It wants to sit by me in all my classes and even comes over to my house. It never stops talking to me. I'll have to figure out some way to tune it out.
Anyway, I'm about to go find something to munch so that I can take some vitamins so I don't have another "field trip" to the emergency room. While it was quite an experience, it's something I'd rather not have to repeat in the near future.

Tuesday, November 16, 2010

Day six: field trip

Okay so this field trip was not with school. It was actually at eight fifty last night and lasted until two thirty this morning. We had to go to the emergency room because I was having an asthma attack so bad. Hospitals are not fun places to be. I'm pretty sure there was no doctor there for real, and they were just telling people it would only be a little while longer when in reality it was like four hours. I started out sitting in one chair, moved to another, moved to the floor to lay down, moved back to a different chair, and then ended up on the floor sitting down. Hospital chairs are not comfortable in the least. At one point, I smelled something that didn't smell entirely pleasent, and I asked my mom what it was. She said she didn't know, but then today she told me that really somebody had thrown up and she didn't want me to puke, too. That was a good call, not telling me. So I got some steroids (unfortunately not the kind that make people buff, but the kind that make you crazy and angry) and since I didn't get home until two thirty I stayed home to sleep in. This means I did not eat breakfast or lunch at school. Instead, I ate two bowls of reeses puffs cereal at around 11 o'clock. Since I was at home and wasn't eating at school I took advantage of the opportunity to take my vitamins in the morning. My allergies have already improved. Then I went to school for the last hour and half, conviently making it just in time for our spirit week assembly. For dinner we went to this sandwich shop called Someplace Else on Western and I got a meatball sandwich with cheese (even though I asked for no cheese >:(   ) with potatoe salad and I drank a coke. I felt really guilty. First red meat then a coke! I'm terrible! I might as well just have gone to school.

Monday, November 15, 2010

Day five: sick!

Okay so it's day five and this no vitamins thing has taken its toll on me. I'm sick and I haven't been really sick the whole year, and I swear it's because of the vitamins. I'm actually having an asthma attack as I'm writing this, and it's brought on by me getting sick. Fun times!
So this morning I got to school fairly early and totally forgot that I had to get breakfast. I stood in the hallway talking to a teacher and then realized that it was seven thirty and I still hadn't eaten. I rushed down there and found my sister and we got food. The person in front of me got cinnamon toast crunch, a piece of toast, and an orange juice. I cheated, because I got a milk for my cereal. They didn't get any milk! I didn't want to eat DRY cereal! So I did cheat but I think it will be okay. I still got an orange juice, which made me want to puke it was pretty gross. It was warmish and just... no. I was so incredibly hungry by fourth hour, I felt like I was a dragon and I was about to eat everything I could find. Anything I saw, I was going to eat it. However, I waited until lunch, which was basically torture. My friends gave me sideways glances as my stomach hollered, telling me that it felt abandoned.
Lunch rolled around and I got in line, which wasn't too long today. The person in front of me got a baked potatoe but it was the last one so I asked the person behind me what they were getting. They looked at me weird like "uh, why does it matter, just get your food and go," but they told me they were going to get the "healthier" sub sandwich. It comes in a little plastic to go box and includes a turkey sub with cheese, a bag of garden salsa sunchips (score!) and an apple. along with the sandwich comes a little container of tomatoes, lettuce and pickles. I hate pickles. I never eat them. but since I'd already cheated once today I felt I should go ahead and eat the pickles. They weren't too terrible. The bag of sunchips literally made my day. If I ever get anything from the vending machines during the day it's always a bag of garden salsa sunchips. The apple, while a nice idea, was severely bruised. I ate it anyway and it was fairly decent and I feel I shouldn't complain too much because this was one of the better lunches I've had since I started this crazy experiment. I'm beginning to feel very tired throughout the day, especially during the mornings which I know is due to hunger. the afternoons are better, since lunch comes with more food. Now if only I can get to feeling better....

Friday, November 12, 2010

Day four: fish steak grey thing

Okay before I explain my experience today I'd like to clarify one thing. (this will probably happen a lot so be prepared). I don't blame the administration for the nutritional standards of the school. Honestly, I don't know who to blame, and if anyone the USDA for setting the standards. I just wanted to get that out of the way, my administration readers :)
Okay so today was weird. I went to the chiropractor in the morning and wasn't at school to get breakfast so I ate breakfast at home. In the future I won't do this, I just won't eat. I wasn't sure what to do today so I went ahead and ate at home. I had two pieces of whole wheat toast with agave nector and a glass of milk. This proved to not be enough food because I was still hungry by third hour. By fifth hour I was literally exhausted, and I don't know what that is because of.
Today was my friend Taylors birthday and I made him oatmeal rasin cranberry cookies, and I had to sit at lunch and watch my friends eat these cookies and I couldn't have any. It was depressing. When I was in line the person in front of me asked for what I honestly thought were fish sticks. They looked just like it! The sides included vegetables and tater tots. They had the option to get an apple or an orange but got neither. When I sat down to eat my friends asked what I got and I broke apart the first "fish stick" only to find it was grey inside. Supposedly, it was steak fingers. Hm... I didn't realize that steak fingers were grey. The tater tots were also coldish seeing as they'd been sitting there for a while. The rest of the day was also very exhausting. I came home and ate homemade pizza with bell peppers :) Bell peppers are my favorite.

Thursday, November 11, 2010

Day three: oh dear

Okay so it's been three days. But first lets back track a little to yesterday. This is where I honestly wish I didn't start blogging because of the embarrassing things I have to write about. Yesterday, after I had already posted I came down with diarrhea. Ugh I hate to even say that it's so embarrassing! This food is not doing good for me :( Okay but now that I've said it I can move on. Today I got to school much later than planned and this time I was sure I'd missed breakfast. I got to school at 7:39 and I wasn't sure what time they stopped serving but I went down anyway and sure enough they were still open, serving breakfast. Today there was somebody behind me and they probably thought I was crazy as I just stood there and waited until they decided what they were getting. Cinnamon Toast Crunch cereal with a piece of toast. Okay, I love cinnamon toast crunch. It's amazing. If you've never  had it your taste buds are missing out. But let's talk about the toast for a minute. It was yellow. With butter. It was so buttery that the toast was completely yellow! It even tasted so odd that I dipped it into my milk and then I found it edible. I had to eat quickly so I wouldn't be late to class. Tomorrow I will be there much earlier! (hopefully)
I got to the lunch room much earlier than most other people and got a really good spot in line. The person in front of me asked for 2 chicken wings, mashed potatoes, vegetables, which were much more appetizing than yesterdays which were actually a little frightening, and a cherry popsicle thing. Everything was pretty decent. I don't like how little milk there is, I never seem to have enough to last throughout the meal. Then I arrived at the popsicle, which I'd mistakenly saved for the last. I should have eaten it first so I could get over it quicker. First of all, the second I opened it juice came spilling out everywhere. It was like it was hemorrhaging. My friends all laughed at my awful expression as I took my first bite. It was comparable to cherry flavored fluoride. However, I had to eat it. Why did I start doing this? I know there was a reason, right? This part definitely wasn't it. Not only was it terrible, it got everywhere. It was literally dripping down my face.
"You're a vampire!" my friend shouted.
The rest of the day went pretty well and my situation has yet to reoccur, which is lovely. However, I did feel a little nauseous today and I hate not being able to take my normal dosage of vitamins, because my allergies are going insane.
P.S. I apologize I have misinformed you, readers. I was mistaken when I believed there were thirty school days left until Christmas break. When the break rolls around it will have been 26 days, which I feel is still pretty accurate. I hope I do not lose any readers because of this misunderstanding.
P.S.S. I accidentally highlighted part of the text and I couldn't figure out how to un-highlight so I highlighted the whole thing. Tomorrow this will not happen. (hopefully)

Wednesday, November 10, 2010

Day 2: not quite sure

Okay. So today started out good. I got there later than everybody else and once again I was afraid I was too late to get breakfast. But I wasn't. Since there were no people in front of me I decided to go with cereal, of the chocolate puff type. I'm a huge lover of cereal. I could eat it all day. And I have. Sometimes it's all I eat in a day. Usually though when I eat cereal I eat a lot. However, the cafeteria serves those cereals that are already packaged and normally I could eat two or three of those but I could only get one. I was hungry again by third hour and it was pretty severe. Hopefully I get used to this.
I got down to lunch later than I would have hoped in order to get in line early but I wasn't too late to get food. There was pizza this time and I literally stood in line and prayed that the person in front of me would get that. Of course not. Instead they got egg rolls which came with vegetables, rice, a fruit cup and milk. I'm fairly sure the egg rolls were filled with chicken product but I can't be sure. The rice was not too bad. Neither was the milk. Anyway I ate all of it and I wasn't hungry for the rest of the day so that's a bonus.
So I need to clarify a few things that I didn't talk about in my post yesterday. I'm doing this because I feel like public schools feed kids crap *cough* I mean the food could be better, if you want a diplomatic explanation. A great deal of kids, especially at my school and other inner city schools, are on free or reduced priced lunch and they don't get other meals at home so they're stuck either not eating or eating breakfast and lunch at school. If these two things are going to be their only meal, why can't it be somewhat healthy? Why can't it taste good? Why are the portion sizes so small? Okay. I understand that it can be expensive to feed all these kids. But how is it better to feed them food that's bad for them? So the point of this experiment is to find out how this food effects students. I feel like the results will be more extreme for me because I usually eat so healthy. My mom said she's be praying for my health but I asked her to please refrain. I want whatever happens to happen.
My weight before I started was 112 pounds. I usually get about six hours of sleep a night and I wake up feeling tired no matter what but I'm functional throughout the day. I don't have a big problem with acne, except every few weeks and it's never that bad. When I take my vitamins (which I've become religious about) I feel great. I take 4 C vitamins a day, two in the morning, two at night; two B vitamins, one A vitamin in the morning; one in the morning one at night; one D vitamin in the morning; Two calcium, one in the morning one at night; one Zinc in the morning, and two multivitamin gummies, one in the morning one at night. Since the experiment started I've been taking only two vitamin C's and only one vitamin B, all at night. I can feel the difference after only two days. My allergies are starting to act up and I'm sniffling and sneezing a lot more than usual.
All I can say is it's going to be a long thirty days.

Tuesday, November 9, 2010

Day one: Cafeteria experiment

Today marks the first day of my experiment in the school cafeteria. Beginning this morning I am going to spend thirty school days eating school provided breakfast and lunch. I can't say I was very excited about the food itself, but rather the experiment itself. Typically, I eat pretty healthy. For breakfast, it varies. Sometimes its whole grain toast with agave nectar, sometimes its vanilla yogurt with granola and black berries, sometimes its cereal such as frosted mini wheat's, special k, honey bunches of oats, and of course the occasional cinnamon rolls or fruity pebbles. Usually for lunch I bring pudding, jello or apple sauce, a peanut butter sandwich on whole grain wheat bread with agave nectar (can you tell that I really like agave?) a banana or apple or other various fruits (usually a banana) and a water bottle. Starting a few weeks ago I started bringing all natural, glutton free pudding and jello with no artificial sweeteners. The pudding was a little weird but edible and the jello tasted normal.
So this morning was definitely a different experience. While I've eaten school provided lunch before, I've never even been to the cafeteria before school unless in preparation for a test. I didn't realize how many people actually eat breakfast at school. When I first walked in I thought there was a test going on, and I thought I was too late for breakfast. Then I saw kids with styrofoam trays. This was a good sign. With my little sister with the video camera we went and stood in line. Now here's the deal: I can only get what the person in front of me gets. Nothing less. Nothing more. Unless of course the cafeteria is out of the food as soon as the person in front of me passes. In which case I'll get what the person behind me is getting.
Now usually I don't eat pork. Ever. No hot dogs, no bacon, no ham. And I don't miss it. I've actually started to hate the smell of bacon. How can anyone hate the smell of bacon? Well it can happen. However, for the sake of this experiment, I am putting my aversion to pork aside. So this morning I asked for the same thing as the person in front of me and I took my tray to my table and began to eat. The first bite in I realized what I was eating. A "sausage pancake" many have called it. It's like a corn dog with sausage. I doused it in the artificial syrup packet given to me and ate away. My sister forgot to get a milk so we shared. She's a trooper for doing this with me.
Usually hunger strikes around fifth hour, the period right before lunch at about 11:40. However, today's breakfast was not very much food. Hunger took over in third hour, about 10:15. I'll have to get used to that.
Lunch rolled around at 11:45 and I raced down to the cafeteria. Not only because I was hungry, but because of the LINES! I've been in these lines before and I know they can take a LONG TIME. Fortunately I got there fairly quickly. The person in front of me asked for spaghetti... Yes! I love spaghetti. Along with it came pees and carrots, a fruit cup, a piece of bread and a milk. My favorite part was the bread, which was actually pretty good. The spaghetti was also fairly decent, aside from the meat that was in it. I'm not a vegetarian, I just usually avoid meat if I can, except for chicken which I can devour whenever it's near. I ate all of it, which is another stipulation. I have to eat all of every meal.
I didn't feel tired, or nauseous. Honestly, I don't feel any different. Lets see how long this holds up!