Today marks the first day of my experiment in the school cafeteria. Beginning this morning I am going to spend thirty school days eating school provided breakfast and lunch. I can't say I was very excited about the food itself, but rather the experiment itself. Typically, I eat pretty healthy. For breakfast, it varies. Sometimes its whole grain toast with agave nectar, sometimes its vanilla yogurt with granola and black berries, sometimes its cereal such as frosted mini wheat's, special k, honey bunches of oats, and of course the occasional cinnamon rolls or fruity pebbles. Usually for lunch I bring pudding, jello or apple sauce, a peanut butter sandwich on whole grain wheat bread with agave nectar (can you tell that I really like agave?) a banana or apple or other various fruits (usually a banana) and a water bottle. Starting a few weeks ago I started bringing all natural, glutton free pudding and jello with no artificial sweeteners. The pudding was a little weird but edible and the jello tasted normal.
So this morning was definitely a different experience. While I've eaten school provided lunch before, I've never even been to the cafeteria before school unless in preparation for a test. I didn't realize how many people actually eat breakfast at school. When I first walked in I thought there was a test going on, and I thought I was too late for breakfast. Then I saw kids with styrofoam trays. This was a good sign. With my little sister with the video camera we went and stood in line. Now here's the deal: I can only get what the person in front of me gets. Nothing less. Nothing more. Unless of course the cafeteria is out of the food as soon as the person in front of me passes. In which case I'll get what the person behind me is getting.
Now usually I don't eat pork. Ever. No hot dogs, no bacon, no ham. And I don't miss it. I've actually started to hate the smell of bacon. How can anyone hate the smell of bacon? Well it can happen. However, for the sake of this experiment, I am putting my aversion to pork aside. So this morning I asked for the same thing as the person in front of me and I took my tray to my table and began to eat. The first bite in I realized what I was eating. A "sausage pancake" many have called it. It's like a corn dog with sausage. I doused it in the artificial syrup packet given to me and ate away. My sister forgot to get a milk so we shared. She's a trooper for doing this with me.
Usually hunger strikes around fifth hour, the period right before lunch at about 11:40. However, today's breakfast was not very much food. Hunger took over in third hour, about 10:15. I'll have to get used to that.
Lunch rolled around at 11:45 and I raced down to the cafeteria. Not only because I was hungry, but because of the LINES! I've been in these lines before and I know they can take a LONG TIME. Fortunately I got there fairly quickly. The person in front of me asked for spaghetti... Yes! I love spaghetti. Along with it came pees and carrots, a fruit cup, a piece of bread and a milk. My favorite part was the bread, which was actually pretty good. The spaghetti was also fairly decent, aside from the meat that was in it. I'm not a vegetarian, I just usually avoid meat if I can, except for chicken which I can devour whenever it's near. I ate all of it, which is another stipulation. I have to eat all of every meal.
I didn't feel tired, or nauseous. Honestly, I don't feel any different. Lets see how long this holds up!
No comments:
Post a Comment