Thursday, November 18, 2010

Day eight: Thanksgiving feast!

I got to school with plenty of time this morning to get down to breakfast. I sat with a friend that frequently eats in the cafeteria and has very negative views towards the food. He is usually doing homework during this time, which I'm learned can be a good time to do it. For breakfast I had a "bowl" of applejacks, milk, orange juice, and yet another piece of yellow toast. It was flipped over on the unbuttered side when I sat down and I was like "yay! my toast isn't yellow today!" so I picked it up and on the other side, sure enough. There was the yellow. It was hiding. I love applejacks, and if you have never had the chance to try these either you need to. Very sugary but so yummy! The orange juice was warmish again and warm orange juice is just gross! Please don't try this at home. You won't want to. I don't know if I was hungry in third hour today because our schedule was rearranged quite a bit. I was hungry, however, the hour and half before lunch and I actually cheated... I ate a caramel candy bar. Don't tell anybody! I feel bad about it :( I'm a cheater.
Anyway we had an assembly today in our advisory class, it was a speaker from OCU talking about a few scholarships. He showed up super late and there was only twenty minutes to go before lunch was supposed to start. I wasn't ravenously hungry due to the candy bar but I still wanted to eat. Of course he went over, by ten minutes and at that point he'd completely lost most our attention. How could he not? He's in a room full of restless, hungry teenagers! I figured if he went much longer he should be prepared for an attack because we were ready to eat. Of course I meant no disrespect to him, I was just hungry! Lesson #1: Don't interfere with high schoolers lunch time.
I'm actually having to edit this part in because I forgot to write about the actual lunch.
Today was some sort of Thanksgiving feast at school. The only thing they were serving was chicken and stuffing, mashed potatoes and gravy, banana bread (?), green beans, a roll and cranberry stuff. The chicken and stuffing was pretty decent. It was definitely one of the better things I've eaten so far. The bread was hard, most likely reheated (maybe a few times). The mashed potatoes. Okay honestly when the lady poured the gravy onto the mashed potatoes I thought it was caramel. It came out slow and looked waaaaay too thick to be gravy. I mean, I know gravy is thick but this was like CARAMEL! Not the best thing on the tray. However, the worst thing I'd have to say was the cranberry stuff. It came in a little paper container, like you put ketchup in at McDonalds. My friend picked it up and started joking that it came from inside the turkey. Come on now! I have to eat that! It was awful! Comparable to the popsicle thing from last week. Oh! I forgot to mention. The person in front of me also picked up an apple, so I got one too. It tasted like dirt. And the green beans ran out by the time I came by so I didn't have any of those. Both the person and front of me and behind me refused to get a milk but I got one anyway. Cheating again! Tomorrow I'll be better :)
Anyway I've been feeling pretty decent all day. I haven't been too tired but I think it's due to the steroids I have to take for my asthma. I'll have to watch how I feel after the prescription runs out.

No comments:

Post a Comment